Navagraha temple, Guwahati, is the Hindu concept of nine planets that significantly impact a person’s life and fortunes. The celestial bodies were worshipped together to receive their blessings and reduce the ill effects. The nine planets are Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu, each believed to have different qualities and influences on aspects of human life such as health, wealth, love, and relationships.

The Importance of Navagraha Temple Guwahati

navagraha temple guwahati
Photo Credit:

Navagraha temple, Guwahati, India, was built during the 18th century by the Ahom dynasty to appease the nine planets and protect the city from their negative influence. The temple, located on a hill named Chitrachal in the southeastern part of the city of Guwahati, has a unique blend of Hindu and Tantric architecture, with nine shrines dedicated to each planet and a central shrine for Lord Shiva.

The nine celestial bodies of Navagraha

Each planet has its mythology and significance, such as Surya giving life and Chandra representing emotions. Vedic astrology believes the position of the Navagrahas at birth affects one’s life and can impact career, health, relationships, and wealth. By worshipping the Navagraha temple Guwahati, Blessings can be obtained as adverse effects are reduced.

Unique features of the Navagraha Temple

The Navagraha Temple is a unique and exciting place to visit because of its architecture and layout. Each planet has its dedicated shrine, surrounding a central shrine devoted to Lord Shiva. Visitors can participate in various rituals and offerings, including lighting diyas, reciting mantras, and performing aarti, and the temple offers special pujas for those seeking specific benefits related to planetary influences.

The Rituals and Offerings at the Temple

At the Navagraha temple Guwahati, worship of the nine planets starts with Vedic mantras and prayers to Lord Ganesha. The main puja involves invoking the planets in a specific order and offering items related to each world to please them and reduce their negative impact on one’s life. For instance, red flowers, sweets, wheat, or red sandalwood can be offered to the Sun, while silver items, pearls, and rice can be provided to the Moon. Devotees believe these offerings can bring peace and happiness to their lives.

Exploring the Mythologies Associated with Navagraha

Navagraha temple Guwahati, plays a significant role in Hindu mythologies, influencing human life and destiny. These nine planets have a cosmic influence and determine the karmic outcomes of individuals. Worshipping Navagraha alleviates malefic planets and enhances the beneficial effects of favorable ones. The position of Navagraha in a birth chart can influence personality traits, career, relationships, and life events. One famous story is about Ravana, who worshipped Navagraha and was blessed with immense power by Lord Shiva.

Navagraha temple Guwahati, is significant in Hindu mythology, influencing every individual’s life. The nine planets decide karmic outcomes. Worshiping Navagraha can enhance favorable effects and pacify malefic. The Tantric architecture Guwahati offers a unique spiritual experience. It provides a deeper understanding of the significance of the celestial bodies. By worshiping Navagraha, positive changes can occur in life.


DHRUBAJYOTI ROY, the visionary behind, who holds a passion for transforming ideas into tangible and awe-inspiring structures. His multifaceted persona encompasses a love for cars & by profession an Architect.

Write A Comment